Don’t Get Tunnel Vision

Sometimes, looking around might just give you your answer. Let me explain.

Recently, I was on my way to meet a friend for a round of golf. Leaving my house I looked over the directions to the course and stored the number and address into my phone. It was going to be 2 hours until I actually went to the course and having a larger ego than cranial capacity, I decided written directions wouldn’t be required. If anything I had the address in my phone, right?

So I run some errands than head to toward the course. As I get off the interstate I fire up my mobile browser to get the finer grain directions that I have already forgotten. No big deal.

Connection error after connection error. Browser after browser. Google Maps app then Microsoft Live Search. They all fail. I have no signal. Great.

Ah, I have the phone number! So I call the clubhouse. I listen to the directions and with each turn I am supposed to make I realize I must be really close.

“Yeah, did that. Ok, just got off that road. Wait did you say take the first right and you’re be a mile up the street?”

I look up from the parking lot where I’m sitting and see a street sign that has been staring at me for the past ten minutes, Lumley Road. I knew that’s where I was supposed to be but I had grow so dependent, stubborn, and used to my digital way of doing things that I didn’t even look up to see I had already arrived. Tunnel vision.

Don’t get so buried in your set ways of doing things that you lose sight of all of your resources. I grew reliant on my mobile lifestyle. I wasted ten minutes and sweat in 100 degree weather for my error. Don’t make my mistake. Occasionally, all you have to do is look up.

Leave a Reply

